TETB acknowledge retiring staff members

October 17, 2018

Tipperary Education and Training Board (ETB) held their annual Retirement Function on Friday 31st August, 2018 in the Anner Hotel, Thurles. The event acknowledged four hundred and thirty six years’ collective service given by the fifteen staff members who retired in the academic year 2017/2018. Staff retiring represented grades from ancillary, administration, and teaching areas.

Ms. Fionuala McGeever, Chief Executive of Tipperary ETB opened the function by welcoming all including the Chairperson of Tipperary ETB Cllr. John Hogan, TETB Board Members, Staff and the recipients of the presentations along with their families and friends. Ms. McGeever thanked all the retirees for being professional, dedicated, committed members of Staff and stated how proud we are of them and their service to the organisation.

Cllr. John Hogan remarked on their outstanding service given to Tipperary ETB and how their work could be seen through the achievements of the students in their schools.  Their service to Tipperary ETB is valued and was acknowledged by a commemorative piece of crystal commissioned by Tipperary ETB, which each retiree received. The fifteen staff members who retired from Tipperary ETB were as follows:

  • Mr. Michael O’Doherty, Ceim Eile, Templemore College of Further Education
  • Ms. Helen Power, Clonmel Youth Training Enterprise
  • Ms. Eileen Slattery, TETB Administration Offices, Nenagh
  • Mr. Liam Heffernan, Nenagh College
  • Ms. Majella Kennedy, Nenagh College
  • Ms. Mary McGrath, Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré
  • Mr. John Neville, Youthreach, Cappawhite
  • Ms. Jane Kennedy, Coláiste Chluain Meala
  • Mr. Dominick Hearn, Coláiste Chluain Meala
  • Mr. James Dunne, Coláiste Mhuire Co-Ed
  • Ms. Breda Lillis Deane, Borrisokane Community College
  • Ms. Eilish Hayes, St. Ailbe’s School
  • Ms. Cathy Guiader, Teach an Leinn
  • Ms. Breda Costello, Newport College
  • Mr. Charlie McGeever, Coláiste Chluain Meala

Fionuala again thanked each of the retirees for their service and wished them all health, wealth and happiness on their retirement. She remarked that colleagues and students alike will miss them but this is their time to now have the freedom to explore what else life has to offer.

An evening of positivity and formal acknowledgement of contributions to the Irish education system concluded with dinner and plenty of chat of future plans.

Pictured are some of the Retiring Staff from Tipperary Education and Training Board at recent retirement function held in Anner Hotel, Thurles. Back Row (L-R): Chairperson, Cllr. John Hogan; Mr. Charlie McGeever, Coláiste Chluain Meala & Gaelcholáiste Cheitinn; Ms. Mary McGrath, Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré; Chief Executive, Ms. Fionuala McGeever; Mr. Michael O’Doherty, Youthreach Ceim Eile, Templemore & Mr. Liam Heffernan, Nenagh College. Front Row (L-R): Ms. Helen Power, Clonmel Youth Training Enterprise; Ms. Eileen Slattery, Head Office, Nenagh & Ms. Majella Kennedy, Nenagh College.


Go back