News from Scoil Ruain 24/05/2019.

June 24, 2019

Annual Student Awards

The Annual Student Awards took place on Tuesday 22nd May in the school’s Main Assembly area. Mr. James Williams and Ms. Siobhan Landers were joined on stage by Ms. Deridre McGrath, Camida, Main Awards Sponsors, Ms. Josephine Chamney, Chairperson of the Board of Management, Mr. John Reilly, Chairperson of Parent’s Association, Rev. Fr. Jimmy O’Donnell, P.P. and Mr. Frank Kearney, Sports Co-ordinator at Scoil Ruáin. Our awards are an opportunity for our school to acknowledge the very many achievements of our students throughout the year. The following is a list of all the award winners:-

Full Attendance Awards: Erin Bolger, Eoin Fitzgerald, Matthew Joy, Cillian Lahart, Micheal O Brien, Cillian O Halloran, Ciaran O Loughlin, Meadhbh O Loughlin, Anna Prendergast, Katelyn Reilly, Roisin Reilly, Kyle Shelly and Rhys Shelly.

Catherine Brett Perpetual Cup for Best Student of Home Economics 2019 Chloe Griffin

Academic Awards: 1st Year: Erin Bolger, 2nd Year: Meadhbh O Loughlin, 3rd Year: Ava Heffernan, 5th Year: Karl-Jochen Wittchen and 6th Year: Joseph Mee

Sports Awards:         First Year Male: Luke Ryan and Female: Dawn O Donohue

Second Year-              Male: Eoin Byrne and Female: Kerri Doyle

Third Year-                 Male: Darragh Maher and Female: Niamh Hayes

Transition Year-          Male: Kyle Shelly and Female: Eimear Boland

Fifth Year-                  Male: Cillian White and Female: Maria Hayes and Katelyn Reilly (Joint)

Sixth Year:                  Male: Brian Maher and   Female: Meibh Maher

Shane Long Award: Male: Darragh Fitzgerald and Female: Ava Heffernan

Extra-Curricular Sports/ Achievements: Ben Coen, Ava Lawrence, Meibh Maher, Gavin Ryan, Kyle Shelly and Andrew Slattery

Camida 3rd Level Scholarship Award: Isobel Hayes

Board of Management Award: Cillian Lahart

Principals Award: Mario Marino

Student of the Year Awards: 1st Year Nominees: Brian Corcoran, Claire Mee, Cillian O Halloran, Roisin Reilly and Eoin Treacy. Winner:       Roisin Reilly

2nd Year Nominees: Katie Bolger, Jack Cashin, Anna Chirubuvu, Johnny Gleeson and Leanne Heffernan. Winner:           Johnny Gleeson

3rd Year Nominees: Robert Cuddihy, Ava Heffernan, Matthew Joy and Anna Prendergast Winner:            Anna Prendergast

T.Y Nominees: Sam Hunter, Molly Maher, Ciaran O Connell, Rachel O Halloran Katie O Riordan and Jack Trehy Winner:           Sam Hunter

5th Year Nominees: Valentina Canescni, Maria Hayes, Sean Prendergast and Katelyn Reilly.

Winner: Sean Prendergast

LCA – Student of the Year :                        Chloe O Donoghue

6th Year Nominees: Andrea Brett, Meghan Eastwood, Danny Gleeson, Chloe Griffin, Isobel Hayes, Jack Hutchinson, Paudie Maher, Joseph Mee, Sinead Regan, Lorcan Troy and Sara Tynan Scoil Ruain Student of the Year 2019: Padraig Maher

Catherine Brett Perpetual Cup for Best Student of Home Economics 2019 Sr. Kate presenting Chloe Griffin with the Catherine Brett award.
Front Row Left to Right Erin Bolger 1st Year, Ava Heffernan 3rd Year and Meadhbh O Loughlin 2nd Year Back Row: Mr. James Williams, Principal, Karl-Jochen Wittchen 5th Year, Joseph Mee 6th Year and John Reilly, Chairperson of Parent’s Association.
Junior Cycle Award Winners.- Johnny Gleeson, Roisin Reilly, Darragh Maher, Kerri Doyle and Eoin Byrne.
Students with full attendance for the school year 2018-19 are pictured here with Deirdre McGrath, Camida, Sponsor of the award.

First Year visit Tayto Park

On Monday 20th May all First Years, International students and members of Student Council visited Tayto Park in Ashbourne in Co. Meath. They sampled all that the park has to offer including a Tayto Factory Tour, the Cu Chulainn Roller-Coaster, Dinosaurs Alive, Extreme Climbing Wall to mention a few. A great day was had by all.

Fifth Year Students walk on The Blueway

To mark the end of year, our 5th years spent a lovely day on the recently opened Blueway this week. The sun shone to show off this wonderful local amenity and all enjoyed the 11km walk from Kilsheelan to Clonmel. The fact that Tom Skinny’s pizza was waiting for us in Clonmel certainly did help motivation and was the perfect end to a very nice day.






DSC 7343 – Students with full attendance for the school year 2018-19 are pictured here with Deirdre McGrath, Camida, Sponsor of the award.


DSC 7408 – Back Row L to R: Elaine Shine 6th Year Head, Siobhan Landers, Deputy Principal, James Williams, Principal, Josephine Chamney, Chairperson of BOM, John Reilly, Chairperson of Parent’s Association

Front Row: Padraig Maher Scoil Ruáin Student of the Year and Deirdre McGrath, Camida, Sponsor of the Award.

DSC 7379 – Ms. Deirdre McGrath, Camida, presenting the 3rd Level Scholarship Award to Isobel Hayes.



Go back