News from Coláiste Mhuire Co-Ed., Thurles 06/06/2018

June 5, 2018

Make a Book Winners

Well done to the Coláiste Mhuire 1st year students receiving their awards for their Make A Book initiative. Included in the photo also are staff members Ms. Forde & Ms. Wallace.

Football Awards

Well done to the u14 Gaelic Football squad on receiving their medals from Tipperary GDA Andy Ryan for their county final victory in the recent Rockwell tournament at Awards night. Also included in the photo are managers Mr. JP Butler & Mr. Seán Craddock.

The Coláiste Mhuire Co-Ed u15 squad are pictured after receiving their winners medals following their Munster Final victory over The North Mon. Proudly holding the cup is captain Tom Reilly!

Awards Night

One of the most important and prestigious evenings in the school calendar of Coláiste Mhuire Co-Ed Thurles took place last Thursday with our annual awards night. Presentations were made to a huge number of proud recipients in a plethora of categories that included the following:

Students of the Year

6th- Scott Beaton
5th- Evan Donnelly
4th- Katelyn Ryan
3rd- Ellen Clarke
2nd- Eoin Craddock
1st- Róisín Connolly
6th LCA- Liam Ryan;

Frank Dwan Award

David Manning

Mary Delahunty Award

Aaron Hayes

Soccer Awards

Senior Liam Ryan,
Junior- Gavin Ryan

Hurling Awards

Senior Hurler of the Year: Jack Dwan
Junior Hurler of the Year: Danny Slattery

Gaelic Football Awards

Senior Gaelic Footballer of the Year – Martin Reilly
Junior Gaelic Footballer of the Year- Eoin Craddock

Rugby Awards

John Shaw

Handball Awards

Stephen Healy & Sheyna Hackett

Athlete of the Year Awards

Azoulus Vernalje

BT Young Scientist Award

Jack Kennedy

Maths Achievement Award

Odhráin Donaghy

Best Junior Certificate 2017

Aaron Cooke

Best Leaving Certificate 2017

Bríd Gleeson

LIT Language Award

Scott Beaton


Seán Mac Craith & Aaron MacConmara;

Féile na Samhna

Eoin Ó Cradóg, Seán MacCraith & Róisín Ní Chonghaile

Féile na Samhna winners Eoin Ó Cradóg, Róisín Ní Chonghaile & Seán MacCraith with their prizes and certificates alongside Mr. JP Butler.

Séamus Maher Award

Jamie Kinnane

Poetry Aloud Award

Emily Hall

Spirit of Musical Award

Caylum Gooney

Music Awards

Senior – Eamon Ryan
Junior – James O Donoghue

Principals Award

David Manning

Student Voice Award

Seán Kearney

Achievement Award

Liam Ryan

There were numerous other group awards presented for outstanding achievements in other areas including Coding, Scifest, ETB awards, NCCA, Entrepeneurial Spirit, County & Munster Gaelic Football winning teams, Rugby County winning team & Provincial finalists, Outstanding attendance, etc.. Our Bean an tí Ms. Caoimhe Geaney and Fear an tí Mr. Paddy Stapleton added to a most entertaining & enjoyable evening that was hugely attended by students families, staff and members of the wider community including His Grace Archbishop O’ Reilly.

Comhghairdeas do ‘chuile dhuine a bhuaigh gradam ar an oíche. Rath as Saothar!

Go back