Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré News 21/03/2018

March 21, 2018

Athletics News

Athletes from Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré recently took part in the Munster Indoor Games held in Nenagh Olympic Athletics Stadium with great success. There was an incredibly positive and determined spirit within the Roscrea team. All athletes put in commanding performances and showed true resolve and will to succeed against the cream of Munster talent.   The Minor Girls, Kelsey Wing, Khya Lynch, Mollie Dooley and Alannah Dunford crossed the finish line in 1st place in their 4 x 200m relay final. The junior boys relay team of Kyle Dooley, Dayle O’Meara, Aaron Delahunty and John Donovan also brought home gold over the same distance.

In addition, Kyle Dooley won a silver medal in the 60m sprint, narrowly missing out on top spot by the narrowest of margins. Graham Dooley leaped his way to bronze medal in the minor boys long jump final as did Dayle O’Meara with a fantastic jump in the junior category.  The entire team have presently returned to intensive training in order to face the challenge that lies ahead in the upcoming outdoor county and provincial finals.

Angus Beef Competition

Congratulations to the transition year students Geoffrey Drought, James Dooley, Craig Lally, Tomás Teehan, Jack Flannery and their agricultural science teacher Mr Smyth who represented Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré at the Certified Irish Angus Beef Schools’ Competition in Croke Park on Wednesday the 14th of March. The students set off to Croke Park early that morning to set up their display. Then they spent 2 hours meeting the judges who spoke with them about their project. The students did themselves proud and were a credit to their school and to their families. Many thanks also to 6th year student Jake Delaney for his help, support and advice.

Tipperary E.T.B. Junior Certificate History Table Quiz

Wednesday 7th March saw the inaugural Tipperary E.T.B. Junior Certificate History quiz take place in Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré. With over 100 students representing schools across Tipperary the competition was stiff. However, there was eventually one winner – Scoil Ruain. The students were presented with the perpetual shield by Dr George Cunningham.

Go back