Scoil Ruáin Student Awards Day 2017

May 29, 2017

Our annual Student Awards Days took place on Monday 22nd May at 1pm. At these awards, students were recognized for their achievements both inside and outside the classroom during the school year. The management of the school was joined by local Parish Priest Fr. Jimmy O’Donnell and Deirdre McGrath from Camida, Clonmel who sponsored some of the awards presented on the day. The following is a list of the award winners.


Most Improved Student in the Class

1 Corrib: Josh Rowan
1 Erne: Jason Sinnott
1 Allen: Samantha Jo Doherty
2 Errigal: Morgan Scott
2 Galty: Caoimhe Butler
2 Comeragh: Ciarán O’Connell
3 Nore: Paul Coady
3 Suir: Avril White
3 Barrow: Sara Tynan
TY Beckett: Luke Bourke
TY Yeats: Cian Fahey
LCA 1: Shane Lawless
LCA 2: Samantha Fanning
Senior 1: Jack Hayes
Senior 2: Tara Regan


Best Student in the Class

1 Corrib: Ava Heffernan
1 Erne: Fia Nolan Queally
1 Allen: Robert Cuddihy
2 Errigal: Aaron Quigley
2 Galty: Lauren Gahan
2 Comeragh: Samuel Hunter
3 Nore: Denis Mulcahy
3 Suir: Andrea Brett
3 Barrow: Katelyn Reilly
TY Beckett: Lorcan Troy
TY Yeats: Sophie Ryan
LCA 1: Shannon O’Connor Doran
LCA 2: Rebecca Webster
Senior 1: Matthew Hunter
Senior 2: Lisa Norton

Sports Star of the Year 2016-17

1sy Year Girl: Niamh Hayes 1st Year Boy: Darragh Maher
2nd Year Girl: Ciara Lyons 2nd Year Boy: Jack Hassett
3rd Year Girl: Katelyn Reilly 3rd Year Boy: Darragh Fitzgerald
TY Girl: Sophie Ryan TY Boy: Conor Harrington
Senior 1 Girl: Lauren Dowling Senior 1 Boy: Dillon Butler
Senior 2 Girl: Ciara O’Sullivan Senior 2 Boy: Colin Shelly

Soccer Player of The Year 2016-17: 
Kyle Farrell

Basketball Player of The Year 2016-17: Meibh Maher

Hurler of The Year 2016-17: Brian Maher

Enterprise Award: Joe Mee, James Horan, Lorcan Troy

Speech And Drama Award: Shona Behan

Creative Writing Competition: Matthew Hunter, Caoimhe Butler, Lucy O’Mahoney, Jack Trehy

Library Award 2016-17: Matthew Joy and Liam O’Connell

Gardening Club 2016-17: Seamus Webster, Patrick Walsh, Robert Cuddihy, Oisín Smullen and Steven Webster

First Year Maths Award: Adam Ryan

Second Year Maths Award: Oleg Novikov

 Craftmanship Award: Sean Prendergast

Junior Arts Award: Maria Hayes

Senior Arts Award: Cameron Bailey

Best Junior Cert Male: Joe Mee

Best Junior Cert Female: Isobel Hayes

Catherine Brett Award for Excellence in Home Economics: Amy Maher

Special Recognition Award 2016-17: Amy Maher, Ava Lawrence, Ciara Horan, Curtis D’Arcy, Hayley Ryan, Seán Fitzgerald, Rachel Dunne, Ross McCormack, Luke Coen, Paul Coady, Joe Mee, Chloe Griffin.

Shane Long Sports Award Winner: Meibh Maher and Micheal O’Shea

Hope Foundation Award: Eimear Lanigan, Katie O’Flynn, Sally Nagle, Chloe Griffin, Meibh Maher and Sophie Ryan.

Full Attendance in Junior Cycle: Katelyn Reilly and Denis Mulcahy.

Full Attendance for the past five years: Ciara O’Sullivan and Shannon Hannigan

Irish Pilgrimage Trust: Amy Brophy and Melanie Coady

French Scholarship Winners: Daniel Boland and Fia Nolan Queally

Scolaireacht na Gaeltachta: Liam Mulcahy and Lauren Gahan

Camida Student of The Year 2017: Amy Maher

Camida 3rd Level Scholarship Winner 2017: Shannon Hannigan

Deirdre McGrath, Camida presents the Scoil Ruain Student of the Year Award to AmyMaher
Deirdre McGrath, Camida presents the Scoil Ruain Student of the Year Award to Amy Maher

Deirdre McGrath, Camida presents the 3rd Level Scholarship Award to Shannon Hannigan
Deirdre McGrath, Camida presents the 3rd Level Scholarship Award to Shannon Hannigan



Go back